New Journey for ITIL® 4 Beginners – All You Need to Know

For all who just start their new ITIL® journey, ITCE has prepared a comparative review of the current and the new versions. ITIL® 4 again offers two certification paths. However, the exams are now just six, instead of 12 as was the case in v3.

Like in v3, ITIL® Foundation remains the start point that gives an overall introduction of the concept and principles behind ITIL®. It also presents the relation of ITIL® to new frameworks like DevOps, Agile, and Lean. In addition, the module gives a close look at the ITIL® lifecycle stages. After completing and taking the ITIL® Foundation designation, professionals can choose between two directions.

ITIL® Managing Professional (ITIL MP)

The ITIL® Managing Professional (ITIL® MP) certification targets IT practitioners working within technology and digital teams across businesses. The Managing Professional (MP) stream provides practical and technical knowledge about running successful IT projects, teams and workflows.

ITIL® Managing Professional (MP), which contains following 4 modules:

  • ITIL® Specialist – Create, Deliver & Support
  • ITIL® Specialist – Drive Stakeholder Value
  • ITIL® Specialist – High Velocity IT
  • ITIL® Strategist – Direct, Plan & Improve

ITIL ® Strategic Leader (ITIL SL)

The ITIL® Strategic Leader (ITIL® SL) certification recognizes the value ITIL® offers not only to IT operations, but to all digitally enabled services. Becoming an ITIL® Strategic Leader (ITIL® SL) demonstrates that the professional has a clear understanding of how IT influences and directs business strategy.

The modules ITIL® Strategic Leader (SL) includes are:

  • ITIL® Strategist – Direct, Plan & Improve
  • ITIL® Leader – Digital & IT Strategy

To obtain either the designation ITIL® Managing Professional or ITIL® Strategic Leader, the professional must complete all modules in each stream. The module ITIL® Strategist counts towards both streams.

Once a student achieves both the Managing Professional and Strategic Leader designations, they will then be eligible to move towards the level of ITIL® Master. Axelos will release further details on the ITIL® 4 Master designation at a later date.

In summary, what is important is that all existing ITIL® certifications will remain valid following the update. Moreover, all credits gained from the v3 certifications can help you continue your ITIL® journey in the new certification scheme. New certifications in ITIL® 3 will be issued until June 2020.

It’s time for another edition of the most widespread IT Service Management best practice framework. Let us support you along this exiting ITIL® 4 journey.

If you have already attended an ITIL® training at ITCE, please contact us to discuss the best transition approach for you and get a special offer for the new ITIL® 4 courses.

ITIL® and PRINCE2® are registered trade marks of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved. 

The Swirl logoTM is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.